Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Santiago Figueroa: Spectroscopy and New Scientific Opportunities at SIRIUS, part II

September 17

Thursday September 17: 9 am Seattle, 12 noon NY, 5 pm London, 7 pm Moscow
 
Sirius is one of the first fourth-generation Synchrotron Light Sources to be built in the world and will have the highest brightness among the light sources in the energy range that goes from soft x-rays to hard X-rays with energies up to 20 keV.  The choice and design of the first Sirius beamlines were defined considering three general guidelines, discussed in the first lecture of this sequence: access to new science, Improvement to current science, innovation in strategic areas.
   
The second two x-ray absorption beamlines intended for Sirius are in the assembled phase. These two beamlines will enable unprecedented studies to be made in Brazil, in practically all areas of knowledge, whether of academic or industrial interest:
     ** QUATI (QUick X-Ray Absorption Spectroscopy for TIme-Resolved experiments) is a beamline dedicated to high quality X-ray absorption spectroscopy experiments, in XANES (X-Ray Absorption Near Edge Structure)  and EXAFS (Extended X-ray Absorption Fine Structure) modes, allowing measurements in the time scale of milliseconds. Multitechnique approach will be performed: XRD, Raman and IR coupled with XAFS experiments. X-ray Emission Spectroscopy (XES) will be accessible by a Von Hamos spectrometer to enable fast scan acquisition.
     ** IPÊ (Inelastic and Photo-Electron spectroscopy) is a beamline that will have two experimental stations to allow complementary techniques probing the electronic structure of materials X-Ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (AP-XPS) and Resonant Inelastic X-Ray Scattering (RIXS).

Details

Date:
September 17

Leave a Reply